Climate Change

In November 2019 and March 2020, the Town recognised the current climate emergency, then in June 2020 a call was made for expressions of interest for a newly-formed Community Action Reference Group (CARG) on climate change, whose task is to: 

  • assist in identifying targets, projects, and actions that the Town and its community can undertake to assist with meeting the challenges of the future in relation to climate change.
  • act as a conduit between the Council and community in providing recommendations to assist the Town in developing the CCAP and other sustainability issues.

The CCAP will be developed collaboratively with the community and be guided by local priorities and expertise to develop actions and strategies for the reduction of community-wide greenhouse gas emissions and find ways to prepare the community and Council to mitigate and adapt to the impacts of climate change.

Membership is on a voluntary basis, and no meeting fees are paid.

The first meeting of the CARG was held in September 2020 and its Terms of Reference and membership are detailed below.


Cr Tony Natale (Chair)
Cr Cliff Collinson
Rebecca James
Fraser Maywood
Duanne Ginger
Paul van der Beeke
Christine Finlay
Leigh Nicholas
Wendy Wisniewski
Miles Dracup
Maureen Flynn

The members of the CARG are a mix of expert environmental scientists and consultants as well as community members and elected officials.  

It is envisaged that the CARG will plan a number of awareness-raising and educational workshops in the future and the community will be invited to participate at various levels.  Details about the future activities of the CARG will be shared via the Town’s news channels including the website, social media and e-news.

The Climate Change Action Plan is currently in draft form. Updates about the draft Plan will be shared on this website as they emerge.

Further information
If you have any questions about your application or eligibility, please call Connor Warn at the Town of East Fremantle on 9339 9339 or send an email to

To reduce unnecessary paper waste please submit your application in a digital format to by close of business Tuesday 11 July 2020.