Six Nyoongar Seasons

In the South West of Australia, the Nyoongar seasonal calendar includes six different seasons in a yearly cycle, namely Bunuru, Djeran, Makuru, Djiba, Kambarang and Birak.

In recognition of the Town's commitment to reconciliation and our acknowledgement of the Six Nyoongar Seasons which represent and explain the seasonal changes we experience annually, the Town commissioned Aboriginal artist, Yabini Kickett, to create artwork for each of the Six Nyoongar Seasons unique to the Town of East Fremantle.

Please enjoy viewing the artwork below. To view enlarged, please click on the image.