Ward Map

Map - Town of East Fremantle Ward Boundaries

Ward Boundary Review

The Town of East Fremantle undertook a Ward Boundary Review in 2016. At the Ordinary Meeting of Council 15 November 2019, it was resolved:

That Council recommends to the Local Government Advisory Board that the status quo remain in place until the next review in 8 years time as it believes the current ward system and representation numbers best represent the community. 

Download a copy of the Town of East Fremantle Ward Review 2016 Discussion Paper

Legislative Requirements

In accordance with schedule 2.2 of the Local Government Act 1995 (LGA) local governments are required to undertake a review of their ward boundaries and councillor representation from time to time with no more than eight years passing between each successive review.

The purpose of a review is to evaluate the current arrangements and consider other options to find the system of representation that best reflects the characteristics of the district and its people. Any of the following may be considered:

  • Creating new wards in a district already divided into wards.
  • Changing the boundaries of a ward.
  • Abolishing any or all of the wards into which a district is divided.
  • Changing the name of a district or a ward.
  • Changing the number of offices of Councillor on a Council.
  • Specifying or changing the number of offices of Councillor for a ward.

The Local Government Advisory Board  encourages local governments to complete their reviews so that any changes can be in place within the eight year period. It is appropriate for local governments to undertake reviews on a more frequent basis when the district is experiencing changes to its population that may impact on representation. 

When reviewing ward boundaries and Councillor representation councils must have regard for the following factors:

Community of interest

The term 'community of interest' has a number of elements. These include a sense of community identity and belonging, similarities in the characteristics of the residents of a community and similarities in the economic activities. It can also include dependence on the shared facilities in an area as reflected in catchment areas of local schools and sporting teams, or the circulation areas of local newspapers, as a few examples. Neighbourhoods, suburbs and towns are important units in the physical, historical and social infrastructure and often generate a feeling of community and belonging. 

Physical and topographic features

These may be natural or man-made features that will vary from area to area. Water features, such as rivers and catchment boundaries, may be relevant considerations. Coastal plain and foothills regions, parks and reserves may be relevant as may other man-made features such as railway lines and freeways.

Demographic trends

Several measurements of the characteristics of human populations, such as population size, and its distribution by age, sex, occupation and location provide important demographic information. Current and projected population characteristics will be relevant as well as similarities and differences between areas within the local government.

Economic factors

Economic factors can be broadly interpreted to include any factor that reflects the character of economic activities and resources in the area. This may include the industries that occur in a local government area (or the release of land for these) and the distribution of community assets and infrastructure, such as road networks.

Ratio of Councillors to Electors in the various Wards

The Local Government Advisory Board has indicated that changes to ward boundaries and representation that result in ratios greater than plus or minus 10% to the ratio without wards, are unlikely to be supported.

For more detailed information click here for the Local Government Advisory Board  'Processes Associated with Reviewing Ward Boundaries and Representation' report.