Regional Collaboration 

The Town of East Fremantle works collaboratively with regional leadership groups including the South West Group of Local Authorities and Resource Recovery Group

About the South West Group

Representing the Cities of Cockburn, Fremantle, Kwinana, Melville and Rockingham and the Town of East Fremantle, the South West Group takes an integrated approach to regional development designed to capitalise on our Region's unique social, commercial and environmental strengths.

For more information go to the South West Group website.

View a copy of the South West Group's latest publications about Investing in Perth's South Metropolitan Region:

Profile Summary Investing in Perth's South Metropolitan Region

Full Report - Investing in Perth's South Metropolitan Region

About the Resource Recovery Group

The Resource Recovery Group, formerly the Southern Metropolitan Regional Council, (SMRC) is a statutory local government authority established in 1991 by local governments in the southern part of metropolitan Perth. The SMRC is responsible for delivering innovative and sustainable waste management solutions for the benefit of our communities and the environment.

The Resource Recovery Group community is:

    • Town of East Fremantle
    • City of Fremantle
    • City of Melville

The Resource Recovery Group operates a state of the art $100 million Regional Resource Recovery Centre (RRRC) in Canning Vale, which receives, recycles, and processes waste from some of its member local governments and the community.

The Group is committed to assisting the State Government to work towards its targets of diversion of waste from landfill. It employs 45 staff and provides work for 100 local small businesses and contractors each month.